Russia– March 2, 2011

WE FOUND AN APARTMENT! and we moved! and I finally unpacked my suitcases (first time in krasnoyarsk) and finally my companion and I feel at home. The apartment is very very nice. and so is our landlord. the kitchen is heavenly and orange. the bathroom has tiles of cave painted indians shooting arrows at deer, the bathtub/shower is gorgeous, the study room is perfect and tidy, there is one huge huge bed (which i finally convinced my companion to take) and a quaint little other bed that I sleep in. When we walk out of our apartment we are greeted with the river bank of krasnoyarsk and the city skyline. it’s beautiful. that was a huge huge accomplishment for us. we moved in on monday and the new sister comes in tomorrow– so we just barely did everythign in the nick of time.

English continues to be successful: lessons continue to be fun, people continue to increase, and spiritual discussions continue to take place after English club.

I’ve been working on getting through “Jesus the Christ” before I finish my mission (I definitely will make it) and it’s really illuminating my life recently. It’s really humbling to learn and think so much about the Savior and his example for us. The more that I live the Gospel and study it and am engaged in it on so many levels the more I am intensely grateful for the soundness of it all.

I had a very spiritual Sunday. On the way to church my thoughts turned to Olesya– a girl who I started teaching in Tosmk, who later got baptized. Then in church that day, right before the meeting was about to start, Olesya walks down the row and sits right next to me! She came to visit a friend in Krasnoyarsk for a couple days. The last time I saw her was when I convinced her to come to church to see me before I left Tomsk. And now I found myself sitting next to her, singing hymns and partaking of the sacrement– both of us renewing our baptismal covenants. There are a lot of moments on the mission where God has shown me his love and mercy towards me. It was a very sweet experience that I will never forget.

Well, I’m about out of time–

I’ll get mail in a couple days probably 🙂

I love you guys!

–Elder Tyler Froelich

2 Responses to Russia– March 2, 2011

  1. Alex Bennett says:

    здравствуйте Froelich Family! I would just like all of you to know how grateful I am for your efforts in creating and updating this blog. Reading about the success that Elder Froelich is having with English Club, street contacts, etc. has been a real confidence booster. It has been great to follow the blog and see the pictures that he sends and sorta know what’s going on in Siberia! The blog has been a wonderful preparatory tool for me as I get closer and closer to leaving on my own mission! Elder Froelich has a strong testimony of the gospel and his example of great missionary work has been inspiring.
    I received my call to Novosibirsk about four months ago and head out to the MTC on April 6th. Thanks again, I wish you all the best. Sincerely, Elder Alex Bennett

    • tylerfroelich says:

      Alex,
      Thanks for your kind comment. I wish you the best of luck on your mission! My son has really enjoyed the experience and there is an incredibly important work building in that part of the world.
      Kelly Froelich

Leave a Reply

