November 17, 2010


(Click or double-click on photo to enlarge)

This last week I’ve found myself doing a lot of things that are pretty far out of my comfort zone.  It’s amazing to realize how much I’ve changed on the mission especially in my attitude to doing uncomfortable things.  And, in the attitude of being thankful– ah! gratitude! That’s the word I’ve been looking for! We’ve been teaching lessons lately and focusing on being more thankful for the things that we have.  It is quite an experience to visit people who are just making it by in this country, who are pretty concerned about having enough food on a weekly basis and tell them that we need to be more thankful for the things that we have.  I think it’s generally accepted, though, that poorer people are often times more grateful for what they have.  Last night at english club we discussed what things we would eliminate from the world.  We talked about money, bad weather, sadness, bugs, and other things.  It was an interesting conversation.  Most interesting for me though was that for the past few days I’ve been consciously trying to be more grateful.  And when you’re trying to focus on how thankful you are about everything, trials and troubles and annoyances take on a new light.  I really think that being thankful is a super important key to being happy.  It’s the grateful person who has a great attitude even about awful situations.  There are moments on the mission that are really stressful and unpleasant.  And to get through some of those you really just have to laugh it off, smile, and keep going.  I’m really thankful for serving a mission about being put in incredibly awkward situations, situations where a lot of responsibility is upon my shoulders, situations that I would never have fathomed in my wildest dreams– situations that really help me grow and deepen my character and my experiences in life.

Anyway– that’ll be it this week.  If i can get this internet to work then I’ll be sending you baptism pictures and pictures from helsinki (i don’t think I’ve sent you those pictures yet…)

Good news: we’ll have a baptism of Vitaliy this Saturday, and tomorrow, from what I understand, Olesya in Tomsk will get baptized!! (I started teaching her and she’s possibly the coolest people in Siberia.  Def. in the top 10)

и всё.

–Elder Froelich

 

Caitlin:

You also mentioned sending me stuff.  I have only gotten a post card from you so far– the one that you decorated yourself. You’re sending it to the right address, right?
Elder Tyler Froelich
Russian Novosibirsk Mission
46 Kirova St.
Novosibirskaya Oblast’
Novosibirsk 630102
Russia

Spencer:

It’s so cool that you’re on a mission!! Send me the name of your mission and address of where to send letters b/c that’s more convenient for me than sending emails.  Plus, I’ve found out how to take advantage of the mission pouch system. 🙂  The sooner you get me that address, the more letters you’ll have waiting for you when you get into the field!

Leave a Reply

