Russia July 7, 2010

Happy Ivana Kupala Day!

So far I’m disappointed in this Russian holiday, but the concept is that on this day you’re supposed to throw water on people!  Supposedly people throw water from their windows/people carry water guns, etc.  Maybe it’s because it’s been raining all day today, but I haven’t seen any evidence of this holiday yet.  But it’s a cool idea, nonetheless.

Well I don’t really know what to report about this week.  Yesterday we celebrated 4th of July in English club! We had lots of food (root beer, apple pie, pancakes, cookies) and played crazy games with our Russian friends (step on other people’s balloons that are tied around their ankles, eat donuts hanging on strings w/out your hands) and we belted the national anthem with everyone at the end– it was a lot of fun! 😀

We’ve been blessed to have met a girl recently who is interested in finding out more about Joseph Smith and the Book of Mormon.  She’s very smart and well educated and speaks many languages– I love talking to her b/c it feels like I’m back with all my Governor’s School friends.  She’s brought up a lot of good questions and arguments about religion, which as really made us stretch as a companionship to find the best way to answer these questions and arguments.  But the best thing about the whole situation for me is that it’s really helped me see the real focus of it all: Jesus Christ.  What it really comes down to is “does the Book of Mormon help me come closer to Christ?”  Because coming closer to Christ and learning more about him is really the quest of any Christian– we’re all trying to be more like him.  I’d just like to share my testimony with you all that I know that Christ is our Savior.  That he knows us all individually and that his arms are always open to us.  I know that the Book of Mormon is a true testament of him.  I know that he leads the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints through a prophet today. I know because I have personally gotten an answer from God that Christ really does live, and that he is active in our lives, and that he leads this church.

I’ll keep it short this week.

-Elder Froelich

Amber– got your package 😀 thanks!! it made my day/week

Leave a Reply

