Dear Fam,

Well, actually, first: Привет всем, кто читают мой блог из России. (Люда) Тепер мне надо быть аккуратно когда Я пишу домой, чтобы Я не писал что-то слышком секретный. 🙂
And second: “oh.”!? “Oh.”!? you just sort of, by the way, may have happened to get into the art program you’ve been waiting to get into all year?! Hadley!!!! That’s AWESOME!  I think I actually freaked my companion out a few minutes ago reading that b/c I was smiling so hard I started to laugh a little bit! I’m so happy for you!!!! Oh man! You’re so amazing! 😀  By the way– I don’t know if i’ve already told you tons of times, but I’ve got your sketches of mr. darci and jane in my photo album and so when people look through my pictures I get to tell them “and my sister is an artist.  She drew those” and they always get kind of quite and pull the photographs a little bit closer to their eyes and they go “man…… she’s like…. really good! Hey, [insert name of family member in the room]! Look at this! His little sister drew these! How old is she?!”And then I go ahead and tell them “yeah, like… this was a while ago– she does art a ton, i need to get some new pictures of her art to show you…” (HINT, HINT) 😉
So this week I pulled off my first Zone Conference as a Zone Leader! 🙂  It was a great zone conference– I got a lot of much needed revelation and comfort and direction from it; it came just in time.  Along with the zone conference came mail.  Andrew– you’re the best. man, I was brushing my teeth reading that comic “complexion” and I started laughing violently/trying not to choke on my tooth paste. my companion in the bathroom immediately started asking me if i was ok.  Man, what a great web comic :).  I also got some mail from Erica Larsen– Happy Birthday– I know I’m quite a few days late, but I hope you had a great day 🙂
We’ve got an Elder Lambson here leaving in a matter of days to go back home.  Today is his last P-Day.  It’s scary to think how fast time is flying by.
I guess my little spiritual thought this week has to do about natural lows and highs in life.  I recently was going through one of those natural lows and even more recently crossed the peak of that mountain; things finally feel like they are all great and taking care of themselves again.  I’ve been thinking a lot about what caused the days that were lows and what got me to the peak or change when things turned around.  It’s such a beautiful part about life that we must fall before we can become more perfect.  Everyone has hard times in life– they are necessary.  Mistakes, moments of doubt, things beyond our control going horribly wrong, bad luck– they bring us down so that we can climb higher; and sometimes that’s just how it has to be.  I don’t know what changed for me to bring me out of my little “low”– maybe the world changed, maybe I changed and started doing things differently, or maybe I just changed my outlook on things. I was reading in 2 Nephi 4 when Lehi, Nephi’s dad, dies.  It doesn’t flat out say it, but I think from context that we can imply that Nephi was having a bit of a rough time right then.  His brothers were being difficult and without the guidance of his father, Nephi may have felt like life had kind of slipped out of his control a little bit.  But he starts to remember all of the great simple things that he knows to be true.  He looks back at the times when God answered his prayers and when he felt God’s love.  He looked back on all the things that his father had taught him. Then he asked himself, if i’ve had all these great happy things in my life then why do I feel so sad right now?  Then he returned to the basics: prayer and faith.  He decided anew that he would pray with unceasing faith– and that he would have the faith to continue with a good attitude to the future.  And he remembered what the Gospel of Jesus Christ is for him: a rock.  Even when we forget that that rock is there– it’s always there.  It’s always the same.  It’s familiar to us; it never changes.
I know that that rock is true. The Gospel of Jesus Christ is real.  He sacrificed his life for us so that we can be happy.  In fact, we are here on Earth to be happy– and the Gospel of Jesus Christ is the most effective way to do that.  I know that Joseph Smith was called of God to be a prophet and to restore the Church of Jesus Christ.  I know that those moments in life of challenge and doubt are natural, supposed to come every once and a while, and they are for our good.  I also know that they are meant to pass and they will pass as we cling to that rock– Jesus Christ, his Gospel, the scriptures– especially the Book of Mormon– and the words of prophets.
Thanks for all your love and support.  I miss you all so much and I think and pray about you often.
Elder Froelich
Ps: Taegan, Amber, Chris, Sam, Zoe and others who I won’t mention to avoid going out too far on a limb because I haven’t gotten very many, if any, letters from you: You’re slackin’.  I’ve been trying to keep the habbit alive here to write as many letters as possible every Wednesday. Sometimes I don’t know who to write– if you want some sweet mail from Siberia, all it takes is a little bit of bugging me for it. 😀

Leave a Reply

