March 25, 2010

CHRIS, THAT’S SO AMAZING! I’M SO EXCITED THAT YOU’RE SPEAKING RUSSIAN!!! AW MAN, THAT’S GOING TO BE SO AMAZING FOR US!! WE’LL BE ABLE TO SPEAK RUSSIAN TO US FOR THE REST OF OUR LIVES!! 😀  THAT’S SO COOL!
and you’ll probably be able to see my MTC teacher and everything! you’ll be like 4 classrooms down from where I was! Oh man, that’s so incredible!  When, though!? WHEN?! when do you head into the MTC? I’m dying to know!  All I have now as far as advice goes is to spend enough time with friends and family before you leave.  I felt really rushed and i didn’t get to see a lot of people as much as i wanted.  And for learning Russian– print out the alphabet and start learning it right away.  That’ll put you way ahead of everyone else in the mtc if you know the alphabet well.  You can learn words and phrases and everything there, but if you can start to kind of read before you get to the mtc it’ll be really great.  A little heads up about why Russian is so different: the endings of the words change.  If you say “The cat eats” or “I ate a cat” or “I helped a cat” or “that’s the cat’s food” — the word cat in each of those sentences will have a different ending.  So if you start looking at Russian words, and things don’t look like they’re matching up– it’s probably because of that.  But don’t worry– they’ll explain it all in the MTC.  Man, you get three months in there, just like me. good luck!
Oh man, I can’t wait to talk to you– i hope you’re not going to the MTC before May 9th when I get to call again!
Wow, that is so exciting.
K, well this week has been CRAZY! Finally everything has slowed down by now– transfers are over with and I just got back from ZLC (which is why i didn’t email yesterday).  Zone Leaders’ Council was amazing.  It was one of the most spiritually encouraging meetings I’ve ever had on my mission.  It was exactly when I needed it too– before ZLC I was feeling pretty stressed and confused about a lot of things, but now I’m really excited and confident that this transfer is going to be great, despite the difficulties of me figuring out all this Zone Leader stuff.
I’d like to share one thing that I learned from ZLC that has really been on my mind and made a big impression on me.  Elder Simmons said that what we as humans are not afraid of failing– we are afraid of being great.  If we become great, then we seperate ourselves from others and we become fulnerable to other great things.  He said “look around– we’re sitting in a room full of people who are afraid to be great.”
No matter where we’re at in life– look at yourself!  Look at how much you are holding back your potential just because you are afraid to be great.  One of the amazing things that we find out in this life is that when we start running faster than we thought that we ever could, we still somehow manage to get by.  Finding the end of our greatness is an impossible task.  And thanks to the atonement of Jesus Christ, if we rely on the right sources we will always have a constant, ever increasing source of strenth that will always be enough to keep us on our feet.
Thanks for all the emails this week.  Needless to say it was one of the most exciting email reading session yet.  Also, I got mail– a letter from you, mom, and conference talks/cd from erica.  thanks.
Thank you all for your continued prayers.
Lyric, Justin, Amber, and Chelsea– it was great to hear from you. thanks for remembering me 🙂
Love you!
–Elder Froelich
Leave a Reply

