January 20, 2010

I’d like to first send a big thanks for the emails I received this week.  I really really appreciated reading them all.  Thank you Justin Geldzahler, Grandma, and the fam– it really made me happy to read those emails.
So within the past week there have been quite a lot of things that have happened.  For one, we all went to Novosibirsk for our Zone Conference, which was great.  While in the mission office I was able to look back at pictures of Brad Weber and the Stewarts (relatives who have served in the Novosibirsk Mission).  I don’t know if you get these emails, Brad, but so far being in Tomsk I’ve heard a member mention an Elder “Veber” and I’m assuming it’s you… did you ever serve in Tomsk?  And for the Stewarts– there is a girl here in Tomsk who served a mission with you in Ulan Ude– her name is Lena Fyoderova. She was very excited to here that we were related.
After Zone Conference we came home and got ready to leave to Kemerovo.  We got to Kemerovo Saturday evening and participated in a fireside in the brand new building.  The next day we attended the first sacrement meeting in a church meeting house in Kemerovo in over 2 years.  I gave the first talk in that building that day– it was a very big event for me.  The building is beautiful.  It has several rooms and we talked a lot during that meeting about starting Relief Society and Priesthood and other auxiliary meetings.  The attendance is still very low, but the future is looking very hopeful for that amazing city.  I was able to see Ksyousha and Ira again and they are both doing great.  They haven’t been to church for a while because they’ve been out of town for the holidays, but I was able to come back and see that they still have a strong testimony and are still involved in the church.
(I also received some mail from Zone Conference: from the Bertonneaus and Erica Larsen– Thanks!)
Then, after getting back, we all have started to buckle down and work harder here. The president wants us to teach more lessons so that we become better teachers and so that we help more people.  So Monday and Tuesday have been very busy days– our schedules being completely full with meetings all day long, with running in between meetings to make everything in time.
I’m still working with my Alexe problem that I wrote about last week but as I’ve been praying to know what to do I’ve felt a definite peace about the situation.  I think several of you suggested to me that he will remember how he felt when we called him the first time and that he will recognize the need to meet with us in the future.  As for right now I have been able to feel comfortable about waiting until the time is right to call him again.  But it’s amazing how God answers our prayers.  I think I just wanted to get an answer of “call him right now and say this and he’ll agree to meet again” but instead the situation has simply felt easier for me to think about and I feel peace about simply waiting for a few more days before we decide on a plan of action.
For a small spiritual thought, I’ve been reading through Preach My Gospel lately and especially in the Lesson Titled “The Gospel of Jesus Christ,” when I read over “Repentance” and “Endure to the End” I realized the role that the Gospel is supposed to play in our lives.  We accept the teachings of Jesus Christ because we want to become better people and we feel peace and comfort in life from doing this.  We have the opportunity to repent and to work all our lives to continually make mistakes and become better from them.  Repentance is not simply a principle of the Gospel, but it is a way of living life that brings continual peace and overall happiness about the way that you are living day to day.
I love you all! Thanks again for last weeks emails.  Justin, those pictures are so classic.  Totally made my day.  And I’d also like to express my pain at hearing how good or sort of good the new Weezer album is.  I’m going to be in Moscow/Helsinki for the next Weezer Day (which also happens to be Valentines Day).
–Elder Froelich

I’d like to first send a big thanks for the emails I received this week.  I really really appreciated reading them all.  Thank you Justin Geldzahler, Grandma, and the fam– it really made me happy to read those emails.
So within the past week there have been quite a lot of things that have happened.  For one, we all went to Novosibirsk for our Zone Conference, which was great.  While in the mission office I was able to look back at pictures of Brad Weber and the Stewarts (relatives who have served in the Novosibirsk Mission).  I don’t know if you get these emails, Brad, but so far being in Tomsk I’ve heard a member mention an Elder “Veber” and I’m assuming it’s you… did you ever serve in Tomsk?  And for the Stewarts– there is a girl here in Tomsk who served a mission with you in Ulan Ude– her name is Lena Fyoderova. She was very excited to here that we were related.
After Zone Conference we came home and got ready to leave to Kemerovo.  We got to Kemerovo Saturday evening and participated in a fireside in the brand new building.  The next day we attended the first sacrement meeting in a church meeting house in Kemerovo in over 2 years.  I gave the first talk in that building that day– it was a very big event for me.  The building is beautiful.  It has several rooms and we talked a lot during that meeting about starting Relief Society and Priesthood and other auxiliary meetings.  The attendance is still very low, but the future is looking very hopeful for that amazing city.  I was able to see Ksyousha and Ira again and they are both doing great.  They haven’t been to church for a while because they’ve been out of town for the holidays, but I was able to come back and see that they still have a strong testimony and are still involved in the church.
(I also received some mail from Zone Conference: from the Bertonneaus and Erica Larsen– Thanks!)
Then, after getting back, we all have started to buckle down and work harder here. The president wants us to teach more lessons so that we become better teachers and so that we help more people.  So Monday and Tuesday have been very busy days– our schedules being completely full with meetings all day long, with running in between meetings to make everything in time.
I’m still working with my Alexe problem that I wrote about last week but as I’ve been praying to know what to do I’ve felt a definite peace about the situation.  I think several of you suggested to me that he will remember how he felt when we called him the first time and that he will recognize the need to meet with us in the future.  As for right now I have been able to feel comfortable about waiting until the time is right to call him again.  But it’s amazing how God answers our prayers.  I think I just wanted to get an answer of “call him right now and say this and he’ll agree to meet again” but instead the situation has simply felt easier for me to think about and I feel peace about simply waiting for a few more days before we decide on a plan of action.
For a small spiritual thought, I’ve been reading through Preach My Gospel lately and especially in the Lesson Titled “The Gospel of Jesus Christ,” when I read over “Repentance” and “Endure to the End” I realized the role that the Gospel is supposed to play in our lives.  We accept the teachings of Jesus Christ because we want to become better people and we feel peace and comfort in life from doing this.  We have the opportunity to repent and to work all our lives to continually make mistakes and become better from them.  Repentance is not simply a principle of the Gospel, but it is a way of living life that brings continual peace and overall happiness about the way that you are living day to day.
I love you all! Thanks again for last weeks emails.  Justin, those pictures are so classic.  Totally made my day.  And I’d also like to express my pain at hearing how good or sort of good the new Weezer album is.  I’m going to be in Moscow/Helsinki for the next Weezer Day (which also happens to be Valentines Day).
–Elder Froelich

Leave a Reply

