November 4 2009 Letter

 

Thank you so much for your emails and pictures and everything– I’ve already spent lots of my computer time just reading and looking at the pictures you all sent me. 🙂
This week we had our Halloween party in Kemerovo!
Elder Ignatyev and I worked very hard on decorations, activities, food, etc.  It was amazing.  We had about 10 people there, including 3 nonmembers.  We set up a very scary haunted house-like entrance to the room where all our guests had to walk through. We carved pumpkins, everyone dressed in costumes, we had a scary story with food that feels like gross body parts (peeled grapes = eyeballs, etc), bobbing for apples, we baked pumpkin seeds, had plenty of candy, ate chili, etc.  It was a very fun Halloween party and the Russians all got a big kick out of it.  I’ll include pictures if I have time.
Thanks for the Halloween pictures that you sent me, family.  A request that I forgot to made to anyone else who is reading my blog– I’d really appreciate any Halloween pictures so that I can show my friends here what costumes are like in America for Halloween 🙂
The second big event this week was Sacrament Meeting on Sunday.  I was feeling discouraged about not being able to speak Russian as well as I’d like to and so I was having a rough morning, but as soon as people started baring their testimonies during our meeting the Spirit was so strong and I felt so comforted.  I especially enjoyed the testimonies of the two new converts, Ksyousha and Ira.  Ksyousha later shared a verse during Sunday School that had an impact on me: Alma 7:23-24.  It was just a great couple of verses to really think about and reflect on how humble we are and how we can improve.
Third big event was family night.  We were trying to come up with a spiritual thought for family night and I remembered back to a talk that Elder Uchtdorf gave a while ago entitled “lift where you stand.”  The Novosibirsk Mission has recently made a lofty goal of 64 baptisms before the end of the year and in order to make that goal we’ve decided to ask the members for more help to let the work go forward.  I told the story of the men trying to lift the piano from his talk and then we talked about the solution that was used in that story: to lift where you stand.  Then we tried the activity where each person uses two fingers from each hand to, as a group, lift one person laying on the floor.  Its fun because when you look at your two fingers you are sure there is no way you can lift someone, but then when you actually try it the person easily is suddenly elevated above the ground as everyone puts in a little bit of effort.  I then explained how we all need to do our part no matter how big or small it is to ensure that the church can stand and grow here in Kemerovo.  Everyone seemed to enjoy the spiritual thought and I especially felt it was a successful way to ask for help from the members and nonmembers to alleviate some of the pressure that we, as the only missionaries in Kemerovo, feel as we try our best to ensure that we can meet every week for church and that Family home evening happens every week, etc, etc.  Then we played a very intense game of Uno, with all of the rules that the Russians/missionaries have added over the years (the way that we play turns the simple game of Uno to an overly complicated mess, in my opinion).
Transfers are coming up and next Wednesday I don’t know if i will be sending an email or not– i don’t know my schedule for leaving to Helsinki yet.
Justin, thanks for the email and for mentioning me to the Jared and Jerusha Hess of Napoleon Dynamite 🙂
Sean, Spencer, and others who are D&D fans…
The two girls we baptized said something about “dungeons” last family night and I said “wait, what?”  They told me that they play a game called “dungeons and dragons and they started to explain it to me” I told them that I knew exactly what they were talking about and that my have played it.  And I said that I’ve got a webcomic for them to see.  I showed them the XKCD about the vyouyier manuscript (sp) that Andrew sent me back in July and they LOVED it!  In fact, one of them even knew what that manuscript was.  So, to my amazement, I found out: Dungeons and Dragons is played in Siberia.  FYI
Again, thanks for all your support, emails, pictures. I’m running out of time and I want to send some pics from Halloween.
Hadley, I loved your email– thanks, that was amazing to read
Mom, Dad, I love you– thanks for everything.
Love,
Elder Froelich

Thank you so much for your emails and pictures and everything– I’ve already spent lots of my computer time just reading and looking at the pictures you all sent me. 🙂
This week we had our Halloween party in Kemerovo!
Elder Ignatyev and I worked very hard on decorations, activities, food, etc.  It was amazing.  We had about 10 people there, including 3 nonmembers.  We set up a very scary haunted house-like entrance to the room where all our guests had to walk through. We carved pumpkins, everyone dressed in costumes, we had a scary story with food that feels like gross body parts (peeled grapes = eyeballs, etc), bobbing for apples, we baked pumpkin seeds, had plenty of candy, ate chili, etc.  It was a very fun Halloween party and the Russians all got a big kick out of it.  I’ll include pictures if I have time.
Thanks for the Halloween pictures that you sent me, family.  A request that I forgot to made to anyone else who is reading my blog– I’d really appreciate any Halloween pictures so that I can show my friends here what costumes are like in America for Halloween 🙂
The second big event this week was Sacrament Meeting on Sunday.  I was feeling discouraged about not being able to speak Russian as well as I’d like to and so I was having a rough morning, but as soon as people started baring their testimonies during our meeting the Spirit was so strong and I felt so comforted.  I especially enjoyed the testimonies of the two new converts, Ksyousha and Ira.  Ksyousha later shared a verse during Sunday School that had an impact on me: Alma 7:23-24.  It was just a great couple of verses to really think about and reflect on how humble we are and how we can improve.
Third big event was family night.  We were trying to come up with a spiritual thought for family night and I remembered back to a talk that Elder Uchtdorf gave a while ago entitled “lift where you stand.”  The Novosibirsk Mission has recently made a lofty goal of 64 baptisms before the end of the year and in order to make that goal we’ve decided to ask the members for more help to let the work go forward.  I told the story of the men trying to lift the piano from his talk and then we talked about the solution that was used in that story: to lift where you stand.  Then we tried the activity where each person uses two fingers from each hand to, as a group, lift one person laying on the floor.  Its fun because when you look at your two fingers you are sure there is no way you can lift someone, but then when you actually try it the person easily is suddenly elevated above the ground as everyone puts in a little bit of effort.  I then explained how we all need to do our part no matter how big or small it is to ensure that the church can stand and grow here in Kemerovo.  Everyone seemed to enjoy the spiritual thought and I especially felt it was a successful way to ask for help from the members and nonmembers to alleviate some of the pressure that we, as the only missionaries in Kemerovo, feel as we try our best to ensure that we can meet every week for church and that Family home evening happens every week, etc, etc.  Then we played a very intense game of Uno, with all of the rules that the Russians/missionaries have added over the years (the way that we play turns the simple game of Uno to an overly complicated mess, in my opinion).
Transfers are coming up and next Wednesday I don’t know if i will be sending an email or not– i don’t know my schedule for leaving to Helsinki yet.
Justin, thanks for the email and for mentioning me to the Jared and Jerusha Hess of Napoleon Dynamite 🙂
Sean, Spencer, and others who are D&D fans…
The two girls we baptized said something about “dungeons” last family night and I said “wait, what?”  They told me that they play a game called “dungeons and dragons and they started to explain it to me” I told them that I knew exactly what they were talking about and that my have played it.  And I said that I’ve got a webcomic for them to see.  I showed them the XKCD about the vyouyier manuscript (sp) that Andrew sent me back in July and they LOVED it!  In fact, one of them even knew what that manuscript was.  So, to my amazement, I found out: Dungeons and Dragons is played in Siberia.  FYI
Again, thanks for all your support, emails, pictures. I’m running out of time and I want to send some pics from Halloween.
Hadley, I loved your email– thanks, that was amazing to read
Mom, Dad, I love you– thanks for everything.
Love,
Elder Froelich

 

Leave a Reply

