Russia Week 9

Birthday-- how emBEARassing

Birthday-- how emBEARassing

Note:  Christmas time is coming.  As it takes a long time for letters/cards/packages to arrive by mail, it would be good to send now.  Tyler’s Russian address is:

630102 Novosibirsk, Russia

ul. Kirova 46

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints

Russia Novosibirsk Mission

Elder Tyler Froelich

_________________________________________________

All,

I started off since last email, by watching the Priesthood Session of General Conference last Wednesday night.  It made me miss my dad.  Dad, it’s frustrating because while I know that we are still able to communicate through emails and letters while I’m on a mission, and that our relationship can definitely be strengthened over these next two years despite the fact that we won’t see eachother– it’s still really frustrating not being able to see you or talk to you on the phone.  Right after the talk about strengthening relationships with fathers I immediately wished that I had heard that talk before my mission.  So Chris, Hadley, Parker– take advantage of the fact that you can talk to Dad.

Then, in a lesson with and investigator I found myself very strongly reminded of my mother (in a not-homesick way) and all that I have learned from her over the years.  We then, yesterday, went to Sister Tamara’s again to provide service and teach her a lesson.  We used the Liahona article that may be a couple months old for you guys about the importance of women in the church.  Again I was reminded of how strong of a role my mother played in getting me to Siberia to preach the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  I read this morning about the strippling warriors and how much of a role their parents played in there lives and determined the kind of character they were able to display.

Mom, Dad, I love you– thanks for everything!

There’s nothing really ground breaking that has happened recently– we’re working with several investigators who are slowly making progress.  We’re anticipating zone conference which will be next monday and tuesday (where I may get mail that some of you may have sent!).  Elder Ignatyev and I were talking with eachother the other day about the Branch here in Kemerovo.  It’s so exciting to work here because the branch is right on the edge of either falling or becoming something great.  Everything is really dependant on the strength of the members, and it’s so exciting to see our newest memebers, Ksyousha and Ira taking such a strong roll in being involved with the branch.  We are all very anxious for a building to meet in where we can start offering free english classes, have bigger activities, and not sound so creepy when we tell people that we meet for church in our apartment. 🙂

I didn’t get very much time to read all of your emails this week (thank you, btw, there were a lot of emails and I feel very loved) — i took pictures of them and i’ll read them later today.  So if i didn’t respond to an important question, then you may have to wait til next week.

Mom, I think you asked about Halloween– I am sad announce that there is no Halloween in Russia…. and in order to not feel miserably homesick on the 31st, i’ve convinced my companion that we should have a branch activity halloween party!  So!  A big request to all:  recepes, ideas, games, etc  for halloween parties.  Maybe if someone could send some halloween songs to my email or something like that.  Specifically one question I have: how do you bake pumpkin seeds?

Also, everyone– i am really curious what everyone is planning on being for halloween!  let me know please!

K, I’m running out of time.

Shout out to Chris– get better! I miss you.  I told the two girls we baptized to look for the chimpanzee song on youtube 🙂

Andrew or Sean or someone who reads xkcd– could you send me the comic about conversions between metric and us measurements?  and I know it’s got some bad words– could you photoshop them out or somehting? I want to show people here about the temperature coversion chart since i’m now thinking in how cold it is celcius-wise.

And yes, parker, it continues to snow. almost every day it snows at least a bit.

Amber, thanks for the pictures!

K, i’m out of time

Love you all so much!

–Elder Froelich

IMG_0135

....ow

IMG_0134

Taxidermy at its finest!

All,
I started off since last email, by watching the Priesthood Session of General Conference last Wednesday night.  It made me miss my dad.  Dad, it’s frustrating because while I know that we are still able to communicate through emails and letters while I’m on a mission, and that our relationship can definitely be strengthened over these next two years despite the fact that we won’t see eachother– it’s still really frustrating not being able to see you or talk to you on the phone.  Right after the talk about strengthening relationships with fathers I immediately wished that I had heard that talk before my mission.  So Chris, Hadley, Parker– take advantage of the fact that you can talk to Dad.
Then, in a lesson with and investigator I found myself very strongly reminded of my mother (in a not-homesick way) and all that I have learned from her over the years.  We then, yesterday, went to Sister Tamara’s again to provide service and teach her a lesson.  We used the Liahona article that may be a couple months old for you guys about the importance of women in the church.  Again I was reminded of how strong of a role my mother played in getting me to Siberia to preach the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  I read this morning about the strippling warriors and how much of a role their parents played in there lives and determined the kind of character they were able to display.
Mom, Dad, I love you– thanks for everything!
There’s nothing really ground breaking that has happened recently– we’re working with several investigators who are slowly making progress.  We’re anticipating zone conference which will be next monday and tuesday (where I may get mail that some of you may have sent!).  Elder Ignatyev and I were talking with eachother the other day about the Branch here in Kemerovo.  It’s so exciting to work here because the branch is right on the edge of either falling or becoming something great.  Everything is really dependant on the strength of the members, and it’s so exciting to see our newest memebers, Ksyousha and Ira taking such a strong roll in being involved with the branch.  We are all very anxious for a building to meet in where we can start offering free english classes, have bigger activities, and not sound so creepy when we tell people that we meet for church in our apartment. 🙂
I didn’t get very much time to read all of your emails this week (thank you, btw, there were a lot of emails and I feel very loved) — i took pictures of them and i’ll read them later today.  So if i didn’t respond to an important question, then you may have to wait til next week.
Mom, I think you asked about Halloween– I am sad announce that there is no Halloween in Russia…. and in order to not feel miserably homesick on the 31st, i’ve convinced my companion that we should have a branch activity halloween party!  So!  A big request to all:  recepes, ideas, games, etc  for halloween parties.  Maybe if someone could send some halloween songs to my email or something like that.  Specifically one question I have: how do you bake pumpkin seeds?
Also, everyone– i am really curious what everyone is planning on being for halloween!  let me know please!
K, I’m running out of time.
Shout out to Chris– get better! I miss you.  I told the two girls we baptized to look for the chimpanzee song on youtube 🙂
Andrew or Sean or someone who reads xkcd– could you send me the comic about conversions between metric and us measurements?  and I know it’s got some bad words– could you photoshop them out or somehting? I want to show people here about the temperature coversion chart since i’m now thinking in how cold it is celcius-wise.
And yes, parker, it continues to snow. almost every day it snows at least a bit.
Amber, thanks for the pictures!
K, i’m out of time
Love you all so much!
–Elder Froelich
Birthday Celebration

Birthday Celebration-- Ulia, Sashlika (Shishkabobs)

Baptism Day

Baptism Day

IMG_0115

Baptism Day-- Ira

IMG_0114

Baptism Day-- Ksyousha

IMG_0111

Leave a Reply

