Russia Week 8

All,

Things have been going great in Kemerovo.  We are still experiencing difficulties resulting from last transfer such as realizing that one day a week the entire day (wake up extra early, go to bed extra late) is spent traveling to Tomsk for a 1 hour District Meeting, followed by lunch at a restaurant.  It’s frustrating knowing that our entire day is simply that.

But it’s been exciting to see how active and enthusiastic our newest members of the branch are. They both attended their first weekend of General Conference this last weekend.  We get DVD’s in the mail a week after General Conference and then we watch them on the same schedule as Utah, just a week later.  Conference was great, especially Elder Holland’s talk on the Sunday morning session, right after the Choir sang “Oh Divine Redeemer.”  Wow.  I watched his talk again today because I loved it so much and if any of you out there missed that talk I urge you to watch it, it is really powerful.

We get to watch the Priesthood session tonight– so Dad, Chris, Parker: I’ll be thinking about you.

Well I spent a lot of time sending pictures and things that I need, but here’s a little spiritual thought I returned to today in my personal study…

I was reading Jacob 1:7 “Wherefore we labored diligently among our people, that we might persuade them to come unto Christ, that they might enter into his rest.”

Rest.  Sometimes we don’t think about the church as being a method of resting with all of the things that we have to do– it can be stressful sometimes.  So I looked around for more scriptures that teach about rest.

I found in Isaiah 28:20 “For the bed is shorter that a man can stretch himself on it; and the covering narrower than that he can wrap himself in it.”

When I first got to Kemerovo my companion asked me which bed i wanted.  There is a big, nice queen-sized bed and a couch that has been made into something like a bed. I thought it was some sort of trick question… “uh… i’ll take that one” as i pointed to the nice queen bed.  “Ok” he said. Ever since I have been sleeping on quite a spacious bed. 🙂

The gospel is like a bed that is big enough to sleep on.  We can receive rest because we can feel the comfort of knowing that we are forgiven of our sins and that we are becoming better every day.  Just a thought…

K, i’m out of time.  Thanks everyone for your emails. a shout out for my family who is just sending me a bunch of emails in the past 14 minutes– i love you, get to bed 🙂

Love you all, thanks for your support,

–Elder Tyler Froelich

Justin Trapp– Things are going well. Russian is still tough, but i’m making progress.  Great to hear from you. 26 lessons is awesome– keep up the great work! 🙂

IMG_0167IMG_0160IMG_0098fall09 006fall09 001IMG_0204IMG_0184

fall09 001

One Response to Russia Week 8

  1. Yvonne Olive says:

    Elder Frohlich,
    This is the first time I have looked at your Blog. I am so proud of your ponderings and deep spiritual insight. I will share your blog with Tim, maybe this will be our F.H.E.!! Love Sister Olive

Leave a Reply

